NEW SERIES. SERIES: PHYSICS
ISSN 1817-3020 (Print)
ISSN 2542-193X (Online)


Физика конденсированного состояния вещества

Plasmon-polaritons Along the Asymmetric Hyperbolic Metamaterial

Background and Objectives: Plasmon-polaritons along a surface of bulk hyperbolic metamaterial and along a slab of such metamaterial with an arbitrary orientation of the crystallographic axis are considered (the axis in the polarization plane is an arbitrary angle with the direction of propagation). We use the rigorous approach based on Maxwell’s equations. The parameters of the hyperbolic metamaterial in the form of the effective dielectric constant tensor are determined by homogenization.

Influence of Sm Impurity Atoms on the Switching Effect in Thin Films of GeS

Background and Objectives: Nowadays interest has grown considerably to AivBvi type semiconductor media. Among them there is a special interest to the thin photosensitive films of germanium mono-sulfide. So, GeS thin layers have the ability to contain a large number of lithium ions. Therefore, it is possible to prepare the items: solar cells and super condenser. There are no limitations for practical applications of GeS crystal. Prospects of such semiconductor films are determined by the possibility of holographic recording and effects of switching and memory.

Phase Changes of Multiferroic Magnetic Materials, Used in External Memory Systems

Background and Objectives: A review of studies on technological bases of multiferroic materials for their possible use in devices for the urgent destruction of information is presented. The analysis of characteristics of materials allows one to specify their phase changes caused by external influences and to investigate the magnetic properties.

Electric and Magnetic-Field-Induced Formation of Macrostructures in Ferroelectric Liquid Crystals

Background and Objectives: The study of ferroelectric liquid crystals in smectic C* phase fits together several most relevant research areas, including electro-optic devices with response time in the range of 10 μs. A distinguishing feature of smectic C* liquid crystals is its chiral layered structure, which is formed due to the center of masses orientational ordering along the preferred orientation [called the director].

Известия Саратовского университета.
ISSN 1817-3020 (Print)
ISSN 2542-193X (Online)


Физика конденсированного состояния вещества

Динамическая восприимчивость взаимодействующих суперпарамагнитных частиц в постоянном магнитном поле

В данной статье теоретически исследуется динамический отклик ансамбля взаимодействующих суперпарамагнитных частиц, находящихся в постоянном и линейно поляризованном переменном магнитных полях. Предполагается, что релаксация магнитных моментов феррочастиц происходит по неелевскому механизму, оси легкого намагничивания всех частиц сонаправлены и параллельны постоянному магнитному полю. Рассмотрены два случая взаимной ориентации переменного и постоянного магнитных полей: параллельный и перпендикулярный.

EXACT SOLUTIONS OF THE ISING MODELS IN A MAGNETIC FIELD

Previously, the author solved the one-, two- and three-dimensional Ising models in the absence of an external magnetic field exactly. Additional convincing proofs for these solutions are given here. The exact solutions of the Ising models in a magnetic field are found. It is shown that the conventional methods of solving the Ising models are incorrect. Heat capacities and zero-field magnetic susceptibilities of the Ising models are calculated exactly for all dimensions (including the case of polonium) and a flaw in Onsager’s solution for heat capacity is detected.

Плазмон-поляритоны вдоль поверхности асимметричного гиперболического метаматериала

Рассмотрены плазмон-поляритоны вдоль поверхности гиперболического метаматериала и вдоль слоя из него, распространяющиеся в плоскости оси анизотропии (ось в плоскости поляризации составляет произвольный угол с направлением распространения). Использован строгий подход на основе уравнений Максвелла. Параметры гиперболического метаматериала в виде тензора эффективной диэлектрической проницаемости определены путем гомогенизации. Диэлектрическая проницаемость металлических слоев определена по модели Друде–Лоренца.

Влияние примесных атомов Sm на эффект переключения в тонких пленках GeS

В последние годы возросло внимание к новым полупроводни- ковым материалам на основе АivВvi. Среди них особый интерес представляют тонкие фоточувствительные пленки моносульфида германия. Недавно было создано уникальное устройство из GeS. Тонкие пластинки способны содержать большое количество ионов лития. Данный материал отлично подходит в качестве сырья при производстве солнечных панелей. Наряду с этим качеством тонкие пленки моносульфида германия обладают эффектами переключения и памяти.

Фазовые изменения мультиферроидных магнитных материалов, применяемых в системах внешней памяти

Представлен обзор исследований технологических основ мультиферроидных матери- алов с целью возможного их использования в устройствах экстренного уничтожения информации. Анализ характеристик материалов позволил уточнить их фазовые изменения от внешних воздействий и исследовать магнитные свойства.

Формирование макроструктур в сегнетоэлектрических жидких кристаллах под воздействием электрических и магнитных полей

Изучение плёнок сегнетоэлектрических жидких кристаллов (СЖК) сводит воедино несколько наиболее актуальных направлений исследования для создания электрооптических устройств с временами переключения порядка 10 мкс. Возможность приготовления тонких жидкокристаллических плёнок и задание разной ориентации директора на подложках делают такие плёнки интересным объектом для исследования эффектов в ограниченном объёме.